Please contact us if you have additional questions not answered below.
What ingredients do you use in your breads?
All of our breads contain the following: Filtered water, brown rice flour, tapioca flour, millet flour, sorghum flour, potato starch and flour, golden flax seed, cold press extra virgin olive oil, yeast (GF bread yeast or GF wild sourdough starter), non-gmo xanthan gum, guar gum, sea salt, cane sugar.
We use buckwheat flour in the buckwheat loaf and unexpected rye loaves. We use teff flour in the 4-grain levain and unexpected rye loaves.
The 3-seed blend for bagels and baguettes is chia, sesame and poppy seeds. The 4-seed blend in our seeded levain includes sunflower seeds along with chia, sesame and poppy seeds.
Other additional ingredients in specialty loaves may include- walnuts, cranberries, raisins and olives, pinenuts, sundried tomotoes, roasted garlic, basil and caraway.
Do you use rice flour in all your loaves and where is your rice flour sourced?
Yes rice flour is used in all currently available loaves. The rice flour used in Mama Mel's Bread is sourced from California and is non-gmo.
Is your xanthan gum non-GMO?
Yes. It is sourced from Bob's Red Mill. In fact, most of our ingredients are GMO free!
Are your products certified gluten-free?
We are not presently certified gluten-free, however please read on to learn more about our what we do to ensure our products are gluten-free.
All flours, nuts, seeds and dried fruit, used in Mama Mel's Bread are certified gluten-free.
The facility where the bread is made has a dedicated gluten-free kitchen where the mixing and shaping of our dough occurs as well as a separate packaging room. All equipment (except the oven*) including bread proofers, sheet pans, bread baskets, bread pans, mixing bowls, mixers, kitchen tools and cooling racks are all dedicated to gluten-free use only.
*Please note: the oven is shared with other producers that use wheat/gluten, egg, dairy and nuts, however, this occurs on separate days from when Mama Mel's Breads are baked and these products are never baked at the same time as our bread. We practice very stringent processing and cleaning procedures to reduce any risk of cross contamination!
Also note, our bread is produced in a kitchen where tree nuts, eggs and dairy are used and our kitchen is housed within a larger facility where wheat is used.
Do you products contain egg or dairy?
No! Unless otherwise noted, our breads are VEGAN as I've developed these breads to be egg and dairy-free in order to meet the needs of people with multiple food sensitivities.
Do you offer wholesale orders?
Yes! For wholesale inquiries, please email us at firstname.lastname@example.org